Team Yokohama Wins IRC 2000 & 1600cc Categories for 2015

The Indian Rally Championship (IRC) is the biggest rally in the country. It is a series of rallies which is organized by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI). Many teams with their riders participate in the IRC and goes through the tough and exciting competition. This year it is the Team Yokohama who has performed outstandingly and definitely has something more to celebrate on the new year.

IRC 2015

Team Yokohama roped in wins in 2000 and 1600 cc categories in the IRC 2015

In the IRC 2000 Class, Team Yokohama’s motorsports pair of Rahul Kanthraj and co-driver Vivek Bhatt ended as winners whereas it was the team of Karna Kadur and co-driver Vivek Ponnusamy who secured the top position in the IRC 1600 cc category. The 2015 season of IRC saw rallies at Nashik, Coimbatore, Bengaluru & Chikmagalur. Yokohama in India has been part of major Motorsports activities since 2007. It has won the Himalayan car Rallys for three consecutive years – 2009, 2010 & 2011.

Rahul Kanthraj on his amazing win said that since this is the first year that they are participating as a team, they wanted this to be special. They have had a podium finish in all the races for this season. And of course the Yokohama rally tyre really helped with all its grip and durability.

Speaking on this joyous occasion Mr Sanjay Chatterjee, General Manager Sales & Marketing, Yokohama India, said that the Year 2015 has been wonderful for them. Yokohama India has had podium finishes at all rally the company has participated in. We launched Team Yokohama in the month of June this year. Team Yokohama  has won in both the categories 2000 cc & 1600 cc, that it competed in. This gives them further incentive to continue with the same combination. They started supporting only one car during the 2007 Raid De Himalaya and now they have a winning combination.

Yokohama, as many of us are aware of, is a world class rubber company. It manufactures tyres which are exported all around the globe. Yokohama’s tyres are not only sold as replacement units but it also come in as factory fitted in many of the top of the line car manufacturers like Audi, Honda, Mercedes Benz, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Porsche, Suzuki and Toyota. At present, Yokohama is the sole official tyre supplier to FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) since 2006 and it also has been the sole tyre supplier for 31 consecutive years to the Mecca of Formula 3, which is held in Macau every year.

Suzuki Gixxer SF First Impressions
2016 Upcoming Bikes in India

Leave a Reply